Roger Federer Forum
Only members can read the topics or post on this forum.

Please login or register as a new member. It's free... and may you find some old friends!
Roger Federer Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2021-2022 General Tennis News

+6
striker
Cheadlebeagle
Márcia
Cromar
HeartoftheMatter
wcr
10 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

2021-2022 General Tennis News Empty 2021-2022 General Tennis News

Post by wcr Wed Jan 13, 2021 12:17 pm

Del Potro Honours Late Father With Emotional Letter

Jan 13 2021
Marcos Zugasti - ATP Tour

Argentine's father passed away on Monday

Daniel del Potro, the father of Juan Martin del Potro, passed away on Monday at the age of 63. A veterinarian by profession, he had undergone a heart operation in mid-December and his health had been fragile from that moment on.

Del Potro senior always kept a low profile and accompanied his son from an early age as he competed in all sorts of national tournaments across Argentina during his junior days, until Juan Martin began to take his own first steps on the ATP Tour. 

Usually very reserved, the former World No. 3 gave him an emotional sendoff on Tuesday with a letter shared on social media. “You’ve left us here with a broken heart, but we know that you are resting in peace like you deserve," Juan Martin wrote. "Now you have joined your other angel, and I ask that you please watch over my mom, my sister and me from above.

"You are our true and only champion. Thank you for raising me with values, with honesty, with sacrifice and for doing the impossible for me to be able to achieve my dream of being a tennis player. I don’t know how I’ll live without your presence, but I’ll definitely apply everything that you taught me to never give up. I love you pa!!” he wrote.

Condolences have been poured in for Del Potro from friends, fans and around the tennis world.